Anxiety · Lifestlye

Plans for the Upcoming Year

It’s that time of year again when teens ages seventeen to mid twenties hear the simple, yet very annoying question, “What are your plans for the fall?” Now, don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with the question, but after hearing it dozens and dozens of times, it loses its’ innocence.

I am 18 years old, almost 19 and I have one year of university under my belt. This time last year, I loved getting that question. I loved telling everyone my plans about moving down east to Nova Scotia. I was so full of excitement about my new adventure. However, it’s a different feeling this year.

During the last few months of second semester, I had made the decision of not returning to school in the fall. Going to university in Halifax was an amazing experience that I don’t regret at all, but I just felt as if I was not quite ready to dive into 6 more years of schooling. At the time I wanted to become a Social Worker, and with 2 years of general studies, 2 years of getting my Bachelors degree, and 2 years for my masters, my passion did not outweigh the amount of time I’d be going to school for. When I arrived home after finishing up my year in Halifax, the infamous question made it’s return.

“What are your plans for the fall?”

“What are you doing next year?”

I know that these questions only came from the best intentions, but it struck a chord with me, and I easily became overwhelmed. Having to break the news that I would not be returning to school in the fall, was nerve wracking to say the least. Due to my news, a lot of eyebrows were raised and a lot of concerns made heard. The reactions that I had gotten from my family made me question my decision and whether or not I was doing the right thing.

That feeling has now faded, even when I still get asked what my plans are. My plans, which are always changing and rearranging, will be coming to life very soon. I hope to register for the outreach and upgrade my high school sciences,  and apply for the Diagnostic Medical Sonography program at NAIT. In the mean time I want to start up this blog, start a YouTube channel, and hopefully work on a book and get it published. And somewhere in all of this mess, I’m hoping to move to Whitehorse with my incredible boyfriend.

I guess the lesson that I want everyone to take away from this is, “Do what makes YOU happy.” Don’t spend your life making decisions that will please everyone but you. Chase your dreams. Shoot for the moon, because even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars. You can do whatever you put your mind towards.

 

 

Leave a Reply

