Beauty and Fashion

My Top 5 Holy Grail Makeup Products ~Drugstore Edition~

Makeup can be such a hit or miss, and finding the right products can be such an exhausting search. There are so many different variables that play into what makes a product a “good one.” Is it long lasting? Does it smudge? Fragrance or no? Affordable? Packaging? Etc. A more important issue to focus on is how it affects your skin. Does it keep your oily skin at bay? Cause you to break out? Irritate the skin? One day the product can work perfectly, and the next day you’re left wondering why you ever bought it in the first place.

Today, I have compiled a list of drugstore products that are my absolute holy grails when everything else has failed. I do use a mixture of drugstore and high-end products, so I don’t have a complete list of all the products I use. I’m still on the search to complete my drugstore hoy grail list.

1. Nivea Men After Shave Balm for Sensitive Skin

I know what you’re thinking– what does this have to do with makeup?! Well let me just tell you that this makes for one of the BEST face primers for your makeup. Big shout out to NikkieTutorials for introducing the world to this. I have been using this as a primer for about 4 months now, and it’s safe to say that it easily became a holy grail product for me. The balm contains glycerin, which makes your skin tacky, therefore helping your foundation stick to it. It keeps my makeup on ALL day, even in the summer! I have combination skin, and I have no problems in my oily areas (mostly my forehead). Everything stays put. This does come in a fairly large bottle, and you don’t need a lot, so it lasts for awhile. I’ve had the same bottle for the 4 months I’ve been using it. The balm itself does have a “manly” scent to it, but that smell goes away in a matter of minutes once it has been applied. At Shoppers Drug Mart it sells for around $11 but it is on sale sometimes for around $8. Even at $11, it’s still a lot better than spending $40 on a small little tube of silicone.

nivea

2. Revlon Colorstay Foundation

I can’t even recall how long I have been using this foundation, because it’s just been my go-to for so long. It comes in two different formulas- one for normal skin or one for combination/oily skin. I use the one for combination/oily skin in the shade 150 Buff. This foundation has a medium-full coverage but doesn’t feel heavy or thick on my face. This foundation also contains an SPF 15 which is really great, and minimizes extra steps in your makeup routine. The new bottles also now have a pump which minimizes the chance of pouring too much and wasting product. At Shoppers Drug Mart this foundation usually sells for around $21.99. It does come on sale quite regularly and you can get it for around $18. At Walmart lately, I have seen it on for $15.99.

revlon

3. Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder

It took me awhile to find this bad boy. After using several different brands of transparent loose powders, I decided to give pressed powder a try. After watching a ton of YouTube reviews, I decided to give Rimmel’s Stay Matte powder a try. I use the shade Transparent, but it does come in a few other different shades. It doesn’t come with a powder pad or a little brush, so you will have to get your own if you depend on you powders coming with brushes. Using a pressed powder lasts me A LOT longer than using a loose powder, and in my opinion it does a much better job. Of course, if you “bake”your under eyes, it’s not exactly ideal for that, but it is for all over the face. At Shoppers Drug Mart it usually goes for around the $11 mark, but regularly comes on sale for around $8.

rimmel

4. NYX MICRO Brow Pencil

This brow pencil has only recently come into my life, but has already been promoted to my list of holy grail products. It has the eye brow pencil on one end, and a perfectly sized spooly on the other end to shape those brows. These brow pencils are very small– hence the “micro” in the title– which is perfect for drawing those individual eye brow hairs! It’s amazing for the small detail, and still adds a lot of colour. Speaking of colour, these pencils come in so many different shades, that you’re bound to find the perfect fit for you. They are just so easy to work with and I am so happy I chose to get this product on a whim. At Shoppers Drug Mart I believe they are around $15 and I have yet to see them come on sale.

nyx

5. L’OrΓ©al Telescopic Mascara

Words cannot describe the magic of this mascara! If you are one of those people who love to have long eyelashes with minimal volume, this mascara is for you. It has a very thin but long wand, that just works through those lashes and gives them the most beautiful length. I have received many compliments on my lashes when wearing this mascara, because it takes even the shortest lashes, and completely transforms them. The mascara does come in a normal formula and a waterproof formula. I have never personally tried the waterproof formula and I’m not sure what it is like to take off, but the normal formula is such a breeze to take off at the end of the day. At Shoppers Drug Mart, this mascara goes for around $15-$16 and it does not come on sale very often. That being said, I think it is totally worth the money though.

loreal

That concludes my list of my holy grail drug store products. I am still on the hunt for the perfect drugstore blush, contour and bronzer. So if you have any suggestions please leave them in the comments!

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Top 5 Holy Grail Makeup Products ~Drugstore Edition~

Leave a Reply

