Uncategorized

My “In-Tents” Camping Experience

When I think of camping, I always thought that it is synonymous to “relaxing.”

Boy, was I wrong.

This was my first time camping without my parents. That was my first mistake right there. Always bring your mom and dad camping with you, because they will always remember the important things that you are likely to forget. Unfortunately, I had decided that I was a big girl, and that I could do this all on my own. All I can do is laugh about that idea.

I am psychotic when it comes to organizing things. For this one night camping trip, I had list upon list upon list. I made a list of items we already had at home that I needed to pack before we left, a list of items that I had bought the night before, and a list of items that I still had to pick up. The night before, I was speeding all throughout the house and my yard rounding up the tent, the tarp, finding the cooler, getting the food prepared, etc. By the time I went to bed that night, I was exhausted!

When it finally came time for our departure the following day, things played out smoothly. Until I got half a mile away from my house and realized that I didn’t pack a car charger (we needed fully charged phones so we could find our way there and back). After turning around, thinking we finally had everything, we began our half an hour journey to the lake.

About 20 minutes into the drive, my brain finally decides to wake up after being such an anxious, frazzled mess. I then realize that I forgot to grab the bags from home that had our frying pan, utensils, plates, snacks, cups, etc. Without that bag, there was no way we would have been able to cook our supper or breakfast. Calmly, my boyfriend called my mom that we had forgotten some of our things, and they arranged a plan.

While he’s on the phone, I’m trying to figure out where the hell I am going. I hate driving, and driving out to the lake was beyond stressful. They had just opened up the new road that had previously been under construction all the other times we had gone out there, so that really threw me off. We ended up approaching the lake from a different way, which confused me anymore. We ended up turning into another campground (which wasn’t the right one), just so we could park and get our bearings. The way I turned in, I took the road that led straight to a parking lot. At this point, my boyfriend was yelling and screaming at me, because he didn’t know what I was doing. I knew what I was doing. Then a park employee came running out saying that we went in the wrong entrance, so I had to explain that I only wanted to get into the parking lot so we could calm down and find our bearings.

I felt so awful after that. I felt stressed and anxious, and like no one believed in what I was doing.

Finally, after calming down, we started off again and finally found our campground. The registration process was easy and we ended up getting a very secluded, beautiful campsite. Shortly after, my mom showed up to drop off everything we had forgotten. She’s seriously a life saver, and I love her so much.

I thought that the rest of the night would go smoothly, until it started to thunder extremely loud and it rained a little bit. All I could think was that we weren’t going to get our fire cooked meal, like we had been anticipating.

When I thought that things couldn’t get any worse, the whole night took a 180. The clouds cleared off, and blue skies appeared. There was no rain, no thunderstorms; just the quiet peacefulness of an August evening. For supper that night, my boyfriend had made shrimp and asparagus, done in butter and garlic. He also made steak cooked over the fire. Oh my goodness, the food was so unbelievably delicious! For desert that night, we had Banana Boats with M&M chocolate bars, mini marshmallows, whipped cream and cinnamon sprinkled on top. It was so scrumptious, and it remined me of my childhood. It was the perfect way to end the night.

It’s funny to think that what seemed like the most stressful thing I’ve done in awhile, turned out to be one of the best times I’ve had. I had so much fun that I am going out again with my boyfriend, to celebrate my 19th birthday.

Just remember, there is good and beauty in every little thing that we do. What seemed like it would be a horrible night, turned out to be a night of incredible memories between my boyfriend and I.

Leave a Reply

